Peace Weaver or Shield Maiden

Standard

I like a good adventure movie. I raised 3 boys so I’ve seen my share.  I like fighting movies, as long as the good guy wins. I hate it when there is not a good ending. I want to see the hero come in to save the day.
I started watching some Viking movies and programs and I found that I love, as gory as it, the all or nothing, blood all over their faces, fights.  I love when they run in, looking like they will lose and die, in total abandonment, swords swinging and somehow they walk away. I love the rawness of their fights.  It looks “for real”.

I kept trying to figure out why i like them. I realized there are a couple reasons. One is we all want a cause we want to fight for something that we feel is valuable. And we want to know someone is fighting with us and for us.
I also think that kind of fighting was the way the Bible heroes fought. Could you imagine being in battle with David or Joshua? Gory! Cutting heads off, blood splattering, dodging swords, adrenalin and blood pounding in your ears. They were fighters not stand by the side saying “go away i can’t take any more”.
In the Viking programs they bring their shields together to stand under when the arrows are being shot at them.  That speaks volumes to me.  If we as Christians would stand with our brother and sisters when they are going through trials its like we have just brought our shields together to cover our fellow Christian.  Can you hear the clang of the shields?  Now i see how if one can put a thousand to flight then two can put ten thousand to flight.  If we stood shield to shields nothing could get through.

So I guess my title should be “I love Viking fights”.  I could stop there.  I researched a little about the women, the women who fight are called Shield Maidens.  They are not afraid to get in the fight and defend their families & towns.  If you look it up you will find conflicting information, if there were actually Shield Maidens fighting.  But lets just assume it is true for a moment.  Lets just suppose there are women out there willing to fight for what they believe and die for a cause.  I don’t find that hard to believe.  Maybe Esther didn’t fight but she was very courageous and could have been killed for her cause.  Deborah not only fought but led the army in battle.  And there are many other women, modern day, 50 years ago, 100 years ago and etc that would fight for what is right. I don’t find this hard to believe.  There are those women willing to fight.

In studying this I found during the same time, there were women called Peace Weavers.  It sounds nice doesn’t it, weavers of peace, it sounds so nice and polite.  These were the women, the daughters of one King who gave in marriage to another King or his son to cause peace to reign in the country.  One King decides that instead of fighting  he will just give his daughter, his precious daughter to another man.  And hopefully it will not only cause peace but maybe that family will be nice to his daughter.  The article i read “Women in the Early English Society” by Kathleen Herbert said that it rarely worked.  So much of the time sons were fighting and killing their uncles.

What kind of warrior am i?   I would love to be proficient in boxing or MMA, but i am not talking physically, i’m talking spiritually.  Am i the kind of woman who compromises to keep peace?  Do i “marry” and am i intimate with the things of this world?  Like gossiping with the coworkers so they don’t gossip about you.  Or heading to the club with the kids at school so they don’t think you are a Christian and make fun of you.  Or lying just to save face.  Or am i a Shield Maiden, ready to defend those around me, to cover with my shield those who are in need.   To slice off the head of the enemy and say “no, i won’t cave in”. To battle for those less fortunate.  To be covered in the enemy’s blood.  To have battle scars not defensive scars but offensive.  To fight and to defend unto possible death.  Which one are you?  Are you the polite Peace Weaver, compromising to keep peace or a Shield Maiden standing for what you believe and fighting when needed?

One thought on “Peace Weaver or Shield Maiden

  1. Kathy R. Moldrem

    Wow! Your words make us think. I use to be a Peaceweaver, compromising to fit in, just so they wouldn’t beat me up or look down on me. But as I’ve “grown up” in my spiritual walk, I’ve become the one who stands in the gap, helping those who need help, in whatever way I can. Being there with an listening ear, praying with them if they will let me, & calling other’s to pray when there’s a need. So If I was to say, I’d say I’ve become a Shield Maiden, Standing for what I believe & fighting when needed.

Leave a Reply

