Feet shod with the preparation of…Rest?

Standard

Those who have been around me for the last few years, know that the Lord has been speaking to me about rest.  It became a joke between close friends because every time I would talk to the Lord about a situation He would say rest.  Every time someone would talk to me about their situation He would tell me to speak rest into them. I got to where I would say “Really God, there is nothing else you can say except REST”.  This all started in 2009/2010 right before my mother had massive strokes, my dads health plummeted and I became their full time care giver.  Before Devin, my hunny, and I adopted a new born a beautiful little girl, did I mention I’m in my 50’s. The Lord’s timing is always right on, whether we think so or not.  I can’t tell you that I got it together in the rest area, I wish I could. Every time I think I have learned what I need to about rest, the Lord will bring up something else.  It’s been pretty interesting how He’ll bring another chapter of REST my way.

I believe that rest is one of the biggest things that we as Followers need to learn.  When you really, seriously learn to trust in Him then you will rest.  See, how it works? If we aren’t resting then we aren’t trusting.  It sounds so simple doesn’t it?  One of the hardest things to do is rest.  Rest in knowing that your Father has it all under control.  Rest in knowing that He will deal with those that speak wrong about you and make up lies.  Rest when you are trying to forgive but you just can’t.  Rest when you have a temptation that keeps tripping you up.  Rest when your children or spouse are going through a trial. Rest when we feel “I should have learned this already!”.  Rest, just rest in Him.  Our Heavenly Father is the one who is in control.  If we can learn to rest than we stop fighting against what He is doing.  Its like when you were a kid and you floated on your back in the pool or in a river, do you remember?  If you tried to paddle and kick, you were fighting to have control and you never could learn to float.  But once you stopped fighting it and let yourself go and rested then you found yourself floating and kind of bobbing in the water, free and relaxed.

Matthew 11:28 Come to me all you who labor and are heavy laden and I will give you rest.

What I find interesting about this verse is that He says He will give rest, we just have to come to Him.  I don’t know about you but I have to remind myself to go to Him for rest.  Even after all the lessons He has sent me I still have to consciously remember to rest.

My most recent “discovery” about rest is found in Ephesians 6:15.  I have been reading a devotional by Stormie Omartian The 7 Day Prayer Warrior Experience.  I know most people would read it in 7 days as a devotional but I have read and reread the chapters. When I read Day 4 – Shoe Your Feet with the Preparation of the Gospel of Peace, something, maybe it was the Lord, hmmm, made me start thinking in terms of rest.  Peace, rest can you see it?  If we are living in peace then we are resting.  If we are at peace/rest then we are not shaken.  Stormie says “The word ‘preparation’ means that the gospel of peace has already been accomplished.  That is, it is already prepared for you.  You just have to walk in it.  God has peace for us that is beyond our comprehension.  It is not that we can’t imagine having peace, it’s just that we can’t imagine having that kind of peace in the midst of the things we experience here on earth.”  Peace has already been given to us, just like everything we need, God has already prepared it for us.  If we can learn to rest in what His Word says, then we can not be shaken.  Our feet in the physical sense keep us from being shaken, our feet and our core.  Its the big thing now in physical fitness to talk about keeping your core strong.  Ephesians 6:14 in the Amplified Stand therefore having tightened the belt of truth around your loins…The Whole Armor is important, no, vital, but i just want to look at these 2 pieces right now.  If your core is fit with truth – God’s truth, His Word and your feet are fitted with peace, rest, you are in pretty good shape.  Just as when your physical core is strong and you have on the right shoes you can run, you can lift weights, your back won’t be hurting because its strong and you are balanced.  You know they say as you get older balance is one of the things that you can lose and that’s why older people fall and break bones.  If we would rest in what we know, let that sink in a minute, if we would just rest in what we know, then we are not only strong but balanced.  We rest in His truth, we rest in His Word, Hebrews 13:5b I will never leave you nor forsake you, Jeremiah 1:5 Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, Before you were born I sanctified you, I ordained you.  Jeremiah 29:11a For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace.  WOW!  His Word is full of trust me, rest in me.  We don’t need to trust or rest in ourselves, that won’t work.  We need to trust, rest in His Word.   What He says is truth.  Our core and feet are sure, are strong.  The battles come but we aren’t shaken because we are resting in His truth.

One thought on “Feet shod with the preparation of…Rest?

  1. Kathy R. Moldrem

    Yes, that’s the word the Lord keeps telling me too. Seems like when I get really busy, I feel the Holy Spirit tugging at my sleeve & telling me I need to rest. Right now, I am resting in the physical, that’s all I can do right now because I pulled a muscle and the doctor told me to rest. Rest is a good thing if we can just remember to be faithful in that area.

Leave a Reply

