Hold You!

Standard

“Hold you”, Esther says as she holds her arms out for me to pick her up.  She’s almost 3, sharp as a tack, as the old saying goes, but she still says “hold me”.  We all know what it means, she wants me to pick her up, she certainly does not want to hold me.  We laugh about it, its funny, but she’s serious.  Tonight as she said it to me i thought sometimes i want to say to the Lord “Hold you”.  And just as distraught as she sounds sometimes, I feel the same way.  “Hold you“,  can you pick me up and hold me and make me feel like i am the only one who matters to you, please?  “Hold you“, can you make life just stop right now, I’m tired and i just need to be held.  I need to know I am important to you.  I need to know that you love me more than I can imagine.  I need to know there is no judgement, you just love me.

As adults we don’t like to admit it, but I will, I need Jesus to hold me.  I need to unashamedly, with abandon,  throw myself in His direction and know He will catch me.  I need to know i have someone bigger than me that can handle it all.

Matthew 18:4 “Whoever will humble himself therefore and become like this little child (trusting, lowly, loving, forgiving) is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

There is no shame in saying “Hold you”, there is actually reward.  Our Heavenly Father loves it when we say i can’t do it.  I am out of my league.  I am worn out and I need you to take over.  Why do we pretend that we got it?  Why do we hide from the one who loves us more than we can understand or figure out?  We have to, I have to get over myself.  I have to say more HOLD YOU. 

One thought on “Hold You!

Leave a Reply

